SY0-401 : CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+
ISBN : 9781616914769
63+ Videos
159+ Test Prepkits
Rating :
Gain hands-on expertise in CompTIA Security+ SY0-401 certification exam with CompTIA Security+ course. This course covers all the objectives of CompTIA Security+ SY0-401 exam including the application of security controls to maintain confidentiality, integrity, and availability; identification of appropriate technologies and products; troubleshooting security events and incidents, and much more. The exam designed for IT security professionals to identify risks; participate in risk mitigation activities; provide infrastructure, information, operational, and application security.

Retired. This product is no longer available.

Here's what you will get

CompTIA Security+ certification is an entry-level, international, vendor-neutral credential. The CompTIA Security+ certification covers the most important principles for securing a network and managing risk. The CompTIA Network+ certification is recommended before taking the Security+ certification exam. This certification validates foundational skills and knowledge for IT security that can prove to be a stepping stone in your IT security career.

Glossary of terms
Test prep
Pre-assessment Questions
Full Length Tests
Post-Assessment Questions

Videos and How To..

uCertify course includes videos to help understand concepts. It also includes How Tos that help learners with how to accomplish certain tasks.

Video Lessons
Exam FAQs
What are the prerequisites for this exam?

CompTIA recommends the following:

  • CompTIA Network+
  • Two years of experience in IT administration with a security focus
What is the exam registration fee? USD 330 
Where do I take the exam? Pearson VUE 
What is the format of the exam?  Multiple choice and performance based questions.
How many questions are asked in the exam? The exam contains 90 questions.
What is the duration of the exam? 90 minutes
What is the passing score? 750

(on a scale of 100-900)

What is the exam's retake policy?

In the event that you fail your first attempt at passing the SY0-401 examination, CompTIA's retake policy is:

  1. CompTIA does not require a waiting period between the first and second attempt to pass such examination. However, if you need a third or subsequent attempt to pass the examination, you shall be required to wait for a period of at least 14 calendar days from the date of your last attempt before you can retake the exam.
  2. If a candidate has passed an exam, he/she cannot take it again without prior consent from CompTIA.
  3. A test result found to be in violation of the retake policy will not be processed, which will result in no credit awarded for the test taken. Repeat violators will be banned from participation in the CompTIA Certification Program.
  4. Candidates must pay the exam price each time they attempt the exam. CompTIA does not offer free re-tests or discounts on retakes.
What is the validity of the certification? CompTIA Security+ certification are valid for three years from the date the candidate is certified, after which the certification holder will need to renew their certification via CompTIA's Continuing Education Program.
Where can I find more information about this exam? To know more about the LO-SY0-401, click here.
Which certification covers this exam?
What are the career opportunities after passing this exam?
  • Security Engineer
  • Network Administrator
  • IA Technician or Manager
  • Security Consultant/Specialist

Here's what you will learn

  • TOPIC A: The Information Security Cycle
  • TOPIC B: Information Security Controls
  • TOPIC C: Authentication Methods
  • TOPIC D: Cryptography Fundamentals
  • TOPIC E: Security Policy Fundamentals
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Social Engineering
  • TOPIC B: Malware
  • TOPIC C: Software-Based Threats
  • TOPIC D: Network-Based Threats
  • TOPIC E: Wireless Threats and Vulnerabilities
  • TOPIC F: Physical Threats and Vulnerabilities
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Manage Data Security
  • TOPIC B: Manage Application Security
  • TOPIC C: Manage Device and Host Security
  • TOPIC D: Manage Mobile Security
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Configure Security Parameters on Network Devices and Technologies
  • TOPIC B: Network Design Elements and Components
  • TOPIC C: Implement Networking Protocols and Services
  • TOPIC D: Apply Secure Network Administration Principles
  • TOPIC E: Secure Wireless Traffic
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Access Control and Authentication Services
  • TOPIC B: Implement Account Management Security Controls
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Install a CA Hierarchy
  • TOPIC B: Enroll Certificates
  • TOPIC C: Secure Network Traffic by Using Certificates
  • TOPIC D: Renew Certificates
  • TOPIC E: Back Up and Restore Certificates and Private
  • TOPIC F: Revoke Certificates
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Physical Security
  • TOPIC B: Legal Compliance
  • TOPIC C: Security Awareness and Training
  • TOPIC D: Integrate Systems and Data with Third Parties
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Risk Analysis
  • TOPIC B: Implement Vulnerability Assessment Tools and Techniques
  • TOPIC C: Scan for Vulnerabilities
  • TOPIC D: Mitigation and Deterrent Techniques
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Respond to Security Incidents
  • TOPIC B :Recover from a Security Incident
  • Summary
  • TOPIC A: Business Continuity
  • TOPIC B: Plan for Disaster Recovery
  • TOPIC C: Execute DRPs and Procedures
  • Summary
  • Mapping Course Content to CompTIA® Security+® Exam SY0-401
  • Mapping Videos to CompTIA® Security+® Exam SY0-401
  • Introduction
  • Security Fundamentals and Controls
  • Security and Risk
  • Business Continuity and Load Balancing
  • Threats, Vulnerabilities, and Assessment Tools
  • Application, Data, and Host Security
  • Access Control and Identity Management
  • Security Controls and Cryptography
  • Virtual Private Networks
  • Conclusion